🎉 Announcing Numerade's $26M Series A, led by IDG Capital!Read how Numerade will revolutionize STEM Learning

Like

RC
Numerade Educator

Like

Report

Math Review - Intro

In mathematics, a proof is a sequence of statements given to explain how a conclusion is derived from premises known or assumed to be true. The proof attempts to demonstrate that the conclusion is a logical consequence of the premises, and is one of the most important goals of mathematics.

Topics

No Related Subtopics

Discussion

You must be signed in to discuss.
Ak

Afshan K.

April 17, 2021

pascal is actually a very small unit of pressure to show this convert 1 pascal is equal to 1 newton per metre square to pound per feet square atmospheric pressure at sea level is 14.7 pound per in square how many pascal is this

LC

Lulama C.

May 15, 2021

The “Beneteau 60” Boat is carrying tourists among three islands in the carribean region. It sails from the first islanf to the second island, 15616.8 ft away, in a direction 37.0° North-East. It then sails from the second island to the third island in a

LC

Lulama C.

May 15, 2021

The “Beneteau 60” Boat is carrying tourists among three islands in the carribean region. It sails from the first islanf to the second island, 15616.8 ft away, in a direction 37.0° North-East. It then sails from the second island to the third island in a

LC

Lulama C.

May 15, 2021

TT

Thubelihle T.

June 21, 2021

If a bicyclist of mass 65 kg (including the bicycle) can coast down a 6.5? hill at a steady speed of 6.0 km/h because of air resistance, how much force must be applied to climb the hill at the same speed (and the same air resistance)?

TT

Thubelihle T.

June 21, 2021

If a bicyclist of mass 65 kg (including the bicycle) can coast down a 6.5? hill at a steady speed of 6.0 km/h because of air resistance, how much force must be applied to climb the hill at the same speed (and the same air resistance)?

TT

Thubelihle T.

June 21, 2021

TT

Thubelihle T.

June 21, 2021

TT

Thubelihle T.

June 21, 2021

TT

Thubelihle T.

June 21, 2021

TT

Thubelihle T.

June 21, 2021

TT

Thubelihle T.

June 21, 2021

Top Educators
Elyse G.

Cornell University

LB
Liev B.

Numerade Educator

Farnaz M.

Simon Fraser University

Meghan M.

McMaster University

Recommended Videos

Recommended Practical Videos

Recommended Quiz

Physics 101 Mechanics

Create your own quiz or take a quiz that has been automatically generated based on what you have been learning. Expose yourself to new questions and test your abilities with different levels of difficulty.

Recommended Books

Video Transcript

Welcome to Physics 101 Unit zero. This unit will be all about math review, not just for this physics course, but also for physics 102 and physics, one of three thes are calculus based courses. So we will review a little bit of calculus here. Additionally, for any of you who might be coming back to physics after a few years of not having done much math, I will be going over other topics, like some basic algebra and trigonometry plotting all that sort of thing. Um, you can use this unit as an appendix so that when you counter those different topics and you may struggle with them in this course, you can refer back to this unit and watch the video that might help you. Um, if you need a little bit more in depth of an introduction, though, you might consider going to the math courses here on the numerator website. Uh, starting out, we're gonna review some topics in algebra. We're talk about functions and how they're used in variables. We'll talk about plotting functions, inverse operations, algebraic properties, all the tools that you will need in order to succeed in this physics course. Next we'll talk about trigonometry. We talked about trigonometry because there are a lot of right triangles that show up, especially in physics. 101 So we're going to review how to use those things, how all the different parts of the triangle are related to each other, then also had to use trig and metric functions, their plots, how to solve equations with trig and metric functions. And then, uh, all of that will be covered in a section. Later on, we'll talk about different coordinate systems. You may be familiar with the standard X, Y or Cartesian coordinate system. We're also gonna talk about polar coordinates and spherical polar coordinates and cylindrical polar coordinates. All those things will show up here. Uh, some of those that I mentioned there don't don't let them intimidate you. They don't show up very often, but if we know what they are, they could be really useful for solving problems, especially when we get into physics. One or two. Um, we'll talk about dimensional analysis, which is essentially tracking what every variable is measuring. So when we measure a distance, it's major meters. When a measure of time, it's measured in seconds or minutes or hours and making sure that when we combine all these things in our equations that we're doing it properly. Dimensional analysis is somewhere that something that's really easy to do and to track. But if you don't do it, you can make a lot of mistakes. And I see a lot of students do that. We'll also talk about uncertainty in measurements and how to handle that. Now. Different classes have different ways of handling uncertainty. I will review one very simple way and then aim or complex way that I prefer to use. Uh, make sure that you pay attention to what it is your teacher wants you to do. They may pick one or the other of these two methods or have a third technique that they prefer that you use. So make sure you pay close attention when they talk about how to handle uncertainty. Uh, next we'll talk about exponential is and log rhythms. Uh, there's a lot of properties remember with these types of functions, they don't show up a lot in physics 101 but they have the potential to really throw people for a loop. So I'm going to review those briefly and then calculus. We're going to talk about that. Products, cross products, derivatives, Integral. Um, there are some more complicated pieces to calculus, things like differential equations or multi variable calculus, where those definitely show up in later physics courses, and we will get a brief taste of them in introductory. Siri's eso. What I will do is when we come upon those issues in different concepts, I will address them at that time because trying to give a general treatment of them here would just take too much time and not give us a lot of bang for our buck. So I will talk about differential equations. I will talk about things like Path and the Girls and surface and the girls, but I'm going to do them at the time that there needed, because usually in physics is an introductory physics. You only have one or two examples of a differential equation, and all you have to know is how to solve that particular differential equation or two same thing for path and the girls and surface in the girls. So don't worry too much about those will cover them when we get to them.

RC
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Top Physics 101 Mechanics Educators
Elyse G.

Cornell University

LB
Liev B.

Numerade Educator

Farnaz M.

Simon Fraser University

Meghan M.

McMaster University

Next Lectures in Physics 101 Mechanics

09:56

04:48

04:14

04:34

04:51

10:04

04:59

04:54

04:55

04:58

10:10

04:51

04:52

05:01

04:59

09:51

04:46

04:13

05:09

05:04

09:49

04:12

04:56

04:19

04:56

09:58

05:09

04:11

04:55

04:54